Repentance Everyday

Kierkegaard prays:

You that gives both the beginning and the completion, give your victory in the day of need so that what neither our burning wish nor our determined resolution may attain to, may be granted unto us in the sorrowing of repentance: to will only one thing.

We’re in the final countdown to the first day of our new school year.  I am chock full of burning wishes and determined resolutions.  I have thought so much about my will in the last six months.  I have been praying fervently for this new year.

But Andrew Kern also said it: “The only thing we should worry about everyday is repentance.”

I repent that I have not willed only one thing.  I can tell that as I have diligently planned and purchased and prayed, my grip has gotten tighter and tighter on my vision for my homeschool.

Truly, the only thing that I need to do everyday is repent.  I need to will everyday to seek first the kingdom of God, and when I fail, I repent.  Put this on repeat and keep moving.

WWW ladydusk

4 thoughts on “Repentance Everyday

  1. “I need to will everyday to seek first the kingdom of God, and when I fail, I repent.” Love that. 🙂 It never ceases to amaze me how quickly we (I) forget this simple truth. I’ll try SO HARD for SO LONG, then remember, Oh. Maybe I should talk to God about it. :/

    Like

Leave a Reply

